Difficulty level radar traffic monitor

Hi all,

I use arduino a few times a year. I'm not an expert, but with a lot of help of the internet I eventually make stuff work. The majority of the code is copy/paste, and modifying it. Designing code is not my standard yet. I've done a whole range of example projects, and did some simple projects around the house.

There's this road in front of my house, which is 30 km/h, and handles around 60 cars an hour during regular days. But, when the highway 800 metres away gets clogged in the morning and afternoon, the amount of cars passing by on 'my' quite street explodes, which traffic cues, racing (up to 70km/h), dangerous situation and irritation as a result.

I would like to do something about this, but the city council isn't really helpfull so far. I therefore want to aquire data to convince them to take action.

I would like to split the project in two phases:

#1 Measuring / logging traffic speed and intensity, without any display.

#2 Turning the measurements into a indicator sign, which shows the current speed, followed by a happy / sad smiley. These signs can be found across europe, for example see HERE

For phase #1 I dont want to use rubber hose counters, because attaching something to the road might get me in trouble. I therefore would like to look at doppler radars, with a range up to around 30m. I've came across some projects using a HB100. Example videos HERE and Here

Before I start with this, I would like to know what the difficulty level of such a project is, and If I should try to make it work, or don't even start. I would like to avoid investing many hours on a project that won't ever work.

Is my fairly limited knowledge of code designing reason not to start with such a project?
Will copy / pasting and tweaking existing code get me there, or does it requires a huge amount of designing?

If you have any suggestions on the difficulty level or even on the best way to approach this, please share your thoughts.