Digital Harmonica

Hi .. So I'm attempting to make a digital harmonica, nothing too fancy just the usual ten hole diatonic with possibly an octave change an vibrato.

This would need something like twenty inputs for the note selections and probably some more for the octave and vibrato.

I'm a newbie or at least really basic level. So my question is which model should I work with. The digi harmonica will probably use midi via pro tools via arduino or what have ye. My concerns are around latency and input amount.

Somewhere along the way there will be a breath sensor for expression so this will also need input.

The idea is to use the breath sensor over the full range (key of c) notes for expression much like a keyboard breath sensor.

Another consideration is the size of the arduino model. Idealy it would be good to keep the build as close to the harmonica size, but if it means sacrifice to prevent latency then so be it.

I'm looking at available options regards sensors and so far the hall effect seems to be favourite, the difficulty is trying to make one chamber operate both inhale and exhale. Whatever the sensor it will probably be digital and not an analogue input.

Any ideas or guidance would be appreciated and thanks for reading.

Hi, richikennedy,

the sensors would have to be analog? Is it important to really play it, as an instrument or is the general purpose an input device to write scores?

Hi Kevin77 , thanks for the response.

The intention is to play the harmonica. The outlook is to have no sound come from the digital design but for this to trigger notes in a midi system. So in effect more like a controller in the shape of a harmonica.

I can relate to your thoughts upon analogue input but I have come across some considerations with this.