Digital IMU

Hello everyone,

I am new to arduino and to this forum and was looking for some much needed help. I have searched and tried to do this for days for what seems like it should be super simple, but cannot seem to get anywhere.

I have an inertial measurement unit (IMU) with:

Vin = 4.3 to 20V, ~25 mA
GND
Tx 3.3V Logic
Rx 3.3V Logic
baud (115200) 8-N-1

That continuously outputs packs of data at 200Hz. Each pack contains 32 bytes (256 bits) and look like this:

byte byte byte float float float float int int int int int int byte
S1 S2 ID q1 q2 q3 q4 ax ay az gx gy gz csum

each float contains 4 bytes (32 bits), and each integer contains 2 bytes (16 bits).

All I want to do with this sensor is be able to unpack the data and simply read it, collect it, stream it in real time, etc. I just want to visualize it.. I have put the Tx pin into the Rx pin of my arduino, and vice versa, the Vin into 5V and the GND to GND.

Would anyone be able to help? I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

It would be more helpful if you could give us the exact model number and a web link rather than snippets of the specs.

Have you verified that you are receiving data? Just any data, without trying to parse it.

Is there a "start" character that lets you find the beginning of a message?

Is there any example code provided with the IMU? Even if it is another language, it helps to read that.

Have you looked at other similar parsers, such as an NMEA parser?

I actually solved the problem of reading serial from the digital IMU, however… I am getting the packets as stated before 32 bytes, with the start of each as an char = M, char = Y, then char = c, corresponding to the first, second sync bytes and ID bytes, respectively.