Digital Pin Commands

Hi All,

I'm looking to get an android app created that will instruct the Arduino to turn on a digital pin high or low with a duration - thats it. I have limited knowledge in C, is there a generic sketch out there that will do this? It doesn't seem too complex, I just need this last piece of the puzzle to get my project going.

Thank you in advance

The BlinkWithoutDelay example will do this.

How will the Android app communicate with the Arduino?

[quote author=James C4S link=topic=256331.msg1813282#msg1813282 date=1405987817] How will the Android app communicate with the Arduino? [/quote]

It will communicate via Ethernet. Tablet via wifi to router, router out ethernet port to Arduino Shield.

One option would be to use a web server example.

KeithRB: The BlinkWithoutDelay example will do this.

It looks like this will only do pin 13. I need something that will dynamically accept commands for all digital pins (except 0 and 1 of course)

eros:

It looks like this will only do pin 13. I need something that will dynamically accept commands for all digital pins (except 0 and 1 of course)

You can use variables in commands:

digitalWrite(whatEverPinTheAndroidTellsArduinoToUse, HIGH);

JimboZA:

eros:

You can use variables in commands:

digitalWrite(whatEverPinTheAndroidTellsArduinoToUse, HIGH);

Thanks! Doesn't seem too difficult. How do I tell it a duration?

And can this multitask, say i set pin 3 to high for a duration of 10 minutes, and I sent another command from the Android to set pin 4 to high 3 minutes later...will pin 3's command be overwritten by pin 4's command?

And can this multitask, say i set pin 3 to high for a duration of 10 minutes, and I sent another command from the Android to set pin 4 to high 3 minutes later...will pin 3's command be overwritten by pin 4's command?

No it can't multitask in the strict sense of the word, but have a look at this video and this thread

JimboZA: