digital pins register confusion: INPUT_PULLUP, HIGH and LOW

I am new to microprocessors and am trying to figure out the following description on INPUT_PULLUP, HIGH and LOW.
Unfortunately it lacks a code example to demonstrates the concept.
I studied it yesterday and again today and I still don't see it.
Please provide a simple code example or point me to an example that illustrates the concept.

Thank you.

(The following was copied from http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/DigitalPins)

Pullup Resistors
Note also that the pullup resistors are controlled by the same registers (internal chip memory locations) that control whether a pin is HIGH or LOW. Consequently a pin that is configured to have pullup resistors turned on when the pin is an INPUT, will have the pin configured as HIGH if the pin is then switched to an OUTPUT with pinMode().

This shows the idea:

http://gammon.com.au/switches

Digital pins have two modes: INPUT or OUTPUT

Digital outputs have two states: HIGH or LOW

The "third" mode is INPUT_PULLUP which is INPUT plus an internal pullup to +5V.

Hi Nick,

The Switches tutorial was very clear, and I learned something about switch state.
But my question is about pullup resistors controlled by the same registers that control whether a pin is HIGH or LOW
PULLUP = HIGH
PULLUP disabled = LOW

Here is an example code snippet based on the description:

pinMode(8, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(8, HIGH);
pinMode(8, INPUT);	// is pin 8 PULLUP set or disabled?

According to the Digital Pins page, pin 8 PULLUP is set:
“an output pin that is left in a HIGH state will have the pullup resistors set if switched to an input with pinMode().”

According to the pinMode() page, pin 8 PULLUP is disabled:
“INPUT mode explicitly disables the internal pullups.”
http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/PinMode

One of them is wrong or I am not understanding something.

The only reliable reference is the Arduino core source code. Ignore the documentation, it is invariable wrong or misleading.