Digital QRE1113

So just to air out the details, I have little programming experience. I have been face down in books trying to cram as much information into my brain as i can, and have been able to work though most issues as i learn, granted very slowly.

So I am working on a line following robot, and am using the Digital QRE1113 IR sensors. I’ve read some sample codes online, and have looked over the bildr and pololu but have been beating my head against my desk for 11 plus hours, and am begging for some direction.

With using the Bildr code template, I try to stick in an if statement to make a motor advance depending on what the sensor sees. What i can not comprehend is what do i use for my variable in the if statement. Like…

If(QRE1113_Pin > 1500);
{
advance(155,155);
}

If i stick it before the “return diff;” in the bildr code then the motor spins weather a white paper is under the sensor or not, if i stick it after the motor will not do anything no matter what happens. I know im looking at the time it takes the capacitor to discharge to determine weather im looking at a white or black surface… But i’m unsure of what input i should be referencing with an if statement, and where in the code that if statement should be put. I’ve also tried If(diff < 1500);

I really appriciate any help or even a direction to run in at this point, I’m tempted to cave and use analog sensors but now its more of a “This thing will not beat me” situation.

-DD

Get rid of the semicolon on the “if”

In future, it’s best if you post all your code.

The code im using is the digital sample from http://bildr.org/2011/06/qre1113-arduino/

I tried removing the ; still no joy.

Is the code from builder just what is needed to get a response and then my "if" statements would follow after the return diff; portion?

Apologies if im using incorrect terminology, I'm trying to crawl my way up a steep learning curve.

You need to post your code; we're not psychic.