Digital read () ?

Hi everybody,

I’m a beginner french student with the arduino and i need your help for my project.
I link my arduino with a 16 bits paralell ADC (ADS8322 from Texas Instrument) and i want to get back the binary level of each byte of the ADC in output and display them.

I think that use digitalRead() is the good issue but i’m not sure, there is too many functions :wink:

Thanks for your help :wink:

This device apparently generates a parallel digital output, and is a very poor choice of device to connect to Arduino.

You would need to read 16 digital pins simultaneously, it is just not going to be practical to work.

Get a different ADC chip which will communicate with the arduino using SPI interface or maybe I2C interface.

You would need to read 16 digital pins simultaneously, it is just not going to be practical to work.

I don't see why that should be. Initiate a conversion, wait on busy, read sixteen bits, initiate another conversion and stitch your 16 bit integer together while you're waiting. It won't be fast, but I don't see why they need to be read simultaneously.

AWOL:

Initiate a conversion, wait on busy, read sixteen bits, initiate another conversion and stitch your 16 bit integer together while you're waiting. It won't be fast, but I don't see why they need to be read simultaneously.

The ADS8322 is a parallel output device. Unless you add more external logic, you can't read it serially.

I don't recall mentioning reading it serially.

In addition, according to the data sheet, you can use the BYTE input so that you only need to use 8 pins to get the data rather than 16, which again supports the idea that the data is latched and you can pick it up a pin at a time.

AWOL: I don't recall mentioning reading it serially.

I guess what threw me was you saying

Initiate a conversion, wait on busy, read sixteen bits,