Digital Voltage Output has decay

I was given an Arduino Uno for a project; I'm trying to output a continuous 5V from one of the pins. My code is below.

The problem is, when I hook up the Arduino to an oscilloscope, I get a voltage that decays rapidly -- within 300 ms -- while I need the signal to last for approximately 4 seconds.

Why is this happening? I already checked other forum posts; this occurs whether the scope is coupled in DC or AC mode.

(Also, two other questions that came up as I was trying this: 1. Is there a difference between analogWrite() and digitalWrite()? They both seem to do the same thing. 2. Ultimately the goal of the project is to load this code onto a friend's Arduino which has a CNC Shield. The pin numbers don't seem to be the same on the shield, so how do you find out which pin to set as the output?)

Thanks everyone! I'm really new to this but really trying to get this to work!

const int pwmPin = 8; // Analog output pin that the LED is attached to
int outValue = 255;        // value output to the PWM ( in analogWrite() )

int t = 4000; //period of time to output 5V

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600); // initialize serial communications at 9600 bps:
  pinMode(pwmPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  outValue = 255;
  //analogWrite(pwmPin, outValue); //I stopped using this in favor of digitalWrite(), but they seem to do the same thing.
  digitalWrite(pwmPin, HIGH);

Serial.println("output = " + outValue); // print the results to the Serial Monitor:

delay(t); // Wait t milliseconds

// After the time has passed, stop outputting 5V
  outValue = 0;
  //analogWrite(pwmPin, outValue);
  digitalWrite(pwmPin, LOW);

Serial.println("output = " + outValue);

// wait
  delay(t);
}

That should not be happening. There is something wrong with how you are measuring it or the power supply for the arduino.