Digital weigher not responding

I am a novice at Serial communication and have a problem getting response from weigher ( Applied Weighing TASK 120) . I am asking it to send the weight displayed, which is COMMAND 2 in their manual below. My code must be wrong! I am pretty confused by all this MS bit and byte stuff. I would be very grateful if someone could post up some code that would enable COMMAND 2 and send back data. I guess this simple stuff, but I am not progressing at the moment!

Below is an extract from their manual.

General
Incoming data is continually monitored by the TASK 120 on its serial input line.
Each byte of data is formatted as an eight bit word without parity, preceded by one start bit
and followed by one stop bit.
Mantrabus - selected when CP is 128
To signify commencement of a new ‘block’ of data, the HEX number FFH is used as a ‘frame’
character, followed by the station number of the unit under interrogation.
The TASK 120 acts upon incoming data only if its own station number immediately follows the
FFH character.
New data must be received as a string of four nibbles (bits 7-4 set to zero) which are
assembled into two bytes and written into the variables store within the TASK 120. The most
significant nibble must be received first and the last nibble must have the most significant bit
(bit 7) set to indicate the end of data. This is followed by the checksum. The data transmitted
from the TASK 120 is always sent as complete bytes. The station number precedes the data
and the checksum follows the data. The data format used is signed 15 Bit. The most
significant Bit of the most significant Byte is set for negative numbers.

Updating
The required mode or variable to be updated is determined by the station number followed by
the command byte. An EXOR checksum consisting of the station number command byte and
any following data must be appended to the received data. It is most important that the byte