Digitally Combine Buttons (4 Bit Buttons)

Hi,

I am fairly new at electronics/arduino. I have an understanding of them, but am no where near an expert.

I have a project that I want to start working on and I am planning on using an arduino uno for this.

Basically, I need to consolidate as many buttons as I can on as few pins as possible. I haven’t done very much research on this, but I did come across some posts that say to use resistors on buttons attached to the same analog pins and read their value. I didn’t like this because of the safety issues involved in my project (cnc router). So I think I’ve come up with a safer way.

The reason for my posting this is to get suggestions/input/better way of doing it/has it been done before?. Anything helps. I drew out my design on autodesk circuts: https://circuits.io/circuits/2586967-4bit-buttons

The code on the Arduino is as follows:

int bitPin1 = 13; // Pin 13 connected to bit 1
int bitPin2 = 12; // Pin 12 connected to bit 2
int bitPin3 = 11; // Pin 11 connected to bit 3
int bitPin4 = 10; // Pin 10 connected to bit 4
int bin = 0000; // Declaring bin
int Pin9 = 9; // Setting test pin

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);       // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
  pinMode(bitPin1, INPUT);  // Setting pin 13 to bit1
  pinMode(bitPin2, INPUT);  // Setting pin 12 to bit2
  pinMode(bitPin3, INPUT);  // Setting pin 11 to bit3
  pinMode(bitPin4, INPUT);  // Setting pin 10 to bit4
  pinMode(Pin9, OUTPUT);    // Setting pin 9 (test pin) to output
}

void loop(){
  int bitState1 = digitalRead(bitPin1);  // Read state of pin 13
  int bitState2 = digitalRead(bitPin2);  // Read state of pin 12
  int bitState3 = digitalRead(bitPin3);  // Read state of pin 11
  int bitState4 = digitalRead(bitPin4);  // Read state of pin 10

byte bin=bitState1|(bitState2<<1)|(bitState3<<2)|(bitState4<<3);
  Serial.print(bin,BIN);
  Serial.print("\t");
  delay(1);