Digitally dimming an AC single phase motor

Hello,

I would like to dim a single phase 220V AC motor, digitally, with my arduino of course.

I've read a lot of topics here and on other sites, yet I can't find a satisfying answer. Like, someone say "do this and it will work", then someone else say "no it won't work, do that instead". And then they go about technical stuff that I can't understand because I'm not an electrical engineer... I can't afford to try all offered solutions without knowing what I'm doing, most likely I will burn my motor, or worst..

Can someone please look at the datasheet of my motor (BL-B190A-2E-А01-01), and tell me what would I need to be able to digitally control the speed of it (all I really need is 4 steps: OFF, 1/3, 2/3, FULL). Is there suitable modules available somewhere, like ebay?

Thanks!

That is a synchronous AC motor and to control the speed, you need a VFD (variable frequency drive). They are unfortunately expensive.

|256x171

• How can you tell it's a synchronous motor?

• Ok so now I know that for digital speed control, I need a VFD. What about manual speed control? Do I need a VFD too?

• According to wikipedia, the speed of a synchronous motor can be calculated by: 120 * ( freq / # of poles per phases ), in the case of my motor it's 120 * ( 60 / (2/1) ) = 3600 RPM. Why does the datasheet of my motor says 2700 RPM? There do not seem to be a gearbox. What am I missing? Is there a speed limiter inside the motor? And if that's the case, couldn't I hack it somehow to reduce speed as I want?

Sorry if my questions sounds stupid...

Thanks!

Looking more closely, that is probably an induction motor, which will rotate more slowly than the magnetic field.

If so, you can control the speed over a very limited range, see: http://www.orientalmotor.com/technology/articles/article166-1e.html