dimming AC light

I am new to Arduino. I am wanting to dim and fade in and out an AC light bulb. I have Arduino UNO main board. When connected to a dimming board labelled Firing angle method I can get it to do what I want. I ordered a 8 channel board that said Firing Angle Method in description but the actual board is labelled "leading Edge dimmer" and it does not dim. Obviously these are different boards. Any suggestions on how to write sketch to control dimming on leading edge dimmer board?

i am trying very simple sketch to check function

int led = 9;
int brightness = 20;
void setup() {
pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
analogWrite(led, brightness);

Posting in an area that CLEARLY says dont post questions will get you into trouble.

Moved your topic to a more suitable section.

You may want to READ THIS for future reference.
It will help you get the best out of the forum.

Bob.

A link to the data sheet of your mysterious board were very helpful.

We will need the specs for your dimming board.

AC dimming is DIFFERENT from dimming a simple LED and depending on the interface it usually requires different software.

[u]This page[/u] explains how a phase-controlled AC dimmer works.

The dimmer needs to find the AC zero-crossing so it knows when to trigger the TRIAC during each AC half-cycle. Normally, that’s done with an (isolated) input to the microprocessor, but it’s possible for that to be built-into the dimmer module and in that case the dimmer module may accept regular PWM as input.

There is an industrial dimming standard that uses 0-10V DC or 10V PWM (with the phase detection built-into the dimmer) and there is a DMX stage lighting standard, again with all of the dimming control/logic built into the lights.

Your mains operated LED units may not be suited to dimming, regardless of leading or trailing edge dimmers.

IDK what board you use, so I cant help with its code.

DVDdoug made a very good reply.
AC mains dimming is NO JOKE.