Dimming light using DMX

Hey guys, Im fairly new to Arduino and it would be great if someone could look over the code from our project.
The goal is to use two IR sensors, one to control the frequencies of a speaker and one to dim the brightness of a light. It all worked fine when we sticked to a simple LED, but as soon as we had to put the DMX shield and include the DMX simple code, we did not manage to make both sensors work. However, after some trying, we can now use one IR sensor and one potentiometer (to dim the light). The problem is, that the light does not fade gradually, but adapt 2-3 different stages of brightness. The LED still fades gradually though.
Do you have any idea, why two IR sensors dont work with the DMX shield and why the big light does not fade gradually? Heres our code so far.
Thanks a lot!

#include <DmxSimple.h>

//arduino: short leg of LED goes to ground;
//resistor necessary!
//PIN nr 9 goes to LED;
//if add potentiometer: 2 goes to A5, 1 goes to power, 5 Volts, 3 goes to ground
// if add distance sensor: (different color variations as frequency distance sensor)
// red goes to Data (a5);black to ground and yellow to power
//both distance sensors work without the DMX shield. The LED brightness can be dimmed and the frequencies for the speaker controlled
//testing by using potentiometer instead of one sensor

//INCLUSION OF DMX ==> distance sensor + potentiometer works, two distance sensors dont
//potentiometer does not dimm the bright light gradually, it seems to go in 3 steps and does not go from bright do dark, but randomly changes between the steps(furthermore there is a bit of noise so it sometimes changes without moving the potentiometer)
//However, the LED still fades gradually, has a smaller range though.

int ledPin = 9;
int ledValue = 0;
int sensor2Pin = A5; //light brightness
int sensor2Value = 0;
int sliderPin = A0; //speaker
int sliderValue = 0;
int toneValue = 0;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once: