Direct Drive Single Color 4x4x4 LED Cube

Hello everyone, I would like to find out some information about a few things I do not understand. I am very new to Arduino and everything LED’s, so please explain things in a manner that one who is just getting started will understand. Ok so I have a 4x4x4 LED single color cube that is direct driven by the Arduino. My setup is as follows.

16 Anode pins hooked up to 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,A0,A1
4 layer pins hooked up to A2,A3,A4,A5
All are set as outputs
LED pins set High are ON and Low is off
Layer pins set as High are off and Low is on

I have 3 questions here:

#1: Under void setup there is a for statement and a pinmode statement followed by the same thing for the level pins. Can anyone explain this is a simple manner than I can understand why this is needed and what it does in relation to my cube/code? I understand its setting up the pins as outputs and that it reads pin equals 0 and if pin is less than 16 add 1. WHAT??? I have no idea what that means.

#2: Take a look at my void loop section and youll see I made a pattern that lights up a layer then moves from top to bottom, then left to right. There has to be an easier way than writing all that data like that. If you have a way can you explain how to set it up, and what each part means?

#3: The way I have my void loop setup It just plays each pattern once and moves on, how do I get each pattern to play lets say 10 times and then move to the next one?

I have found many easy to make work tutorials on the led cube…but almost nothing on explaining it. I hope that my first round here at Arduino shows me the light :slight_smile: Thanks

Here is my code:

#include <avr/pgmspace.h>

int ledPin[16] = {0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,A0,A1};
int levelPin[4] = {A2,A3,A4,A5};

void setup(){

for (int pin=0; pin<16; pin++){

pinMode (ledPin[pin],OUTPUT);
}

for (int pin=0; pin<4; pin++){
  pinMode (levelPin[pin],OUTPUT);
}
}

void loop() {

//UP AND DOWN