Disabled beginner wanting to build CNC Machine

Hi,
First of all my apologies if this is in the wrong forum or is inappropriate or too vauge.

I've been looking around for something to occupy my time as i am disabled, suffering from early onset Parkinson's disease. I was diagnosed at 50 yrs old, I'm now 57, and find it increasingly difficult to do physical things but i need to do something to occupy my mind.

I've come up with the idea of building a CNC Machine that i can use to cut gear wheels out of wood, so that i can try to make wooden clocks and if they're good enough,sell them at craft fairs to make a few pounds. This will hopefully keep me busy and get me out of the house at weekends.

Before I gave up work I was a computer programmer so I don't think the programming side will be too difficult for me but the electronics/mechanical side may pose some problems, but i have plenty of time on my hands so I should be able to figure things out.

There are a few projects on the internet but before I go down the wrong road could anyone point me to an existing project that has already been done and is quite straightforward, or at least give me some suggestions as to where to look for decent information.

Unfortunately I have limited funds as I am not working anymore (time I have plenty of!), so please keep in mind I'm on a low budget so i envisage building my own frame and gantry.

Do you think this is a feasible project for someone with limited experience?

Thanks in advance

Derek Jones

That would be a great deal of work and $.
You better make sure there is a demand and the selling price would be attractive.
Maybe making an unique electronic clock would be better.

Hi,
Thanks for the reply.

I don't mind it being a lot of work as I have plenty of time on my hands, and the clocks don't really need to make me money - I just thought it's a way of keeping myself occupied with a useful end result.