Disney scanner project

I am extremely new to arduino and my only experience with it is on my 3d printer. I am wanting to make this scanner that is at Disney world. I was thinking of getting an Uno and one of the neopixel rings and hopefully down the road adding nfc to trigger the effects. I basically want to copy the affects in this video from 0:29-0:37. I do not want the finger print reader. Basically I want the ring to have the white led circling and then once the button is pushed or nfc scanned to speed up and light up completely green and play the sound effect. Is this possible? Is this very difficult to accomplish? Once again I am brand new to this.

It all sounds possible. You should start though by just working through the basic examples on this site and try getting LEDs to blink etc.

break the the project into steps.

rfid tag is the bit that identify's the person/wearable device

the LED show is another bit

music is another.

individually, none are too difficult

Thank you. I will probably be posting more because I am so new to this.

Where is a good place for me to learn how to do this? I have no idea where to start.

RFID reader of choice
Neopixels Ring (size of choice)
DFPlayer mini for audio output/playback
Arduino Pro-Mini

Done deal. :slight_smile:

as @dave-in-nj suggests..

break it down into separate sketches.

1.) Get the RFID reader all set-up and reader tag ID's... (not sure how you plan on checking the RFID against a 'permissions list' or database or something? maybe just a list of hardcoded ID's in the sketch itself? not very scaleable however)... so you are getting a read of the ID, and can compare it against (whatever)