Displaying two analog gauges onto an LCD screen.

I'm new to Arduino, but I've been working with java for the past five years as a hobby.

I want to read two analog sending units, both have voltages ranging from 0-5 volts, and display their output onto a 4.3" (480x272) LCD.

My questions are:
Is this a feasible task to write entirely in Java?
Can data be read from the input at a rate of 500ms, possibly faster?
What are the limitations of the video out? I'm thinking of using composite out.
Is a graphically pleasing interface possible?
Are there graphic libraries (other than TFT library)?
I can only find very basic 8-bit looking examples online.

Yea its possible but you wont be able to write it in java, it will need to be in C/C++.

Can data be read from the input at a rate of 500ms, possibly faster?

It can read the data a lot fast then that if you need it to.

What are the limitations of the video out? I'm thinking of using composite out.

You may want to look into the TVOut library, but it wont be in color. Or you can get a TFT lcd and make your own interface. I have a code that already allows you to make a working gauge, but it will require you to have a TFT that uses the UTFT graphics library.

HazardsMind:
You may want to look into the TVOut library, but it wont be in color. Or you can get a TFT lcd and make your own interface. I have a code that already allows you to make a working gauge, but it will require you to have a TFT that uses the UTFT graphics library.

I've looked around at these screens and the only ones I can find only the stand alone lcd. Do they make cases? I'd like to be able to mount it.

A case? not that i'm aware of, you will have to check the site that sells them. If anything you will need to make your own case too.

I have a code that already allows you to make a working gauge

Can you share this code please?

Go to the Other Software Development section, and look for my name. I made the gauge into a library called TFT_Extension.