Distance sensor sharp 2Y0A02

hello i am a beginner in the arduino world. I want to work with distance sensors and max/msp. i installed my arduino board to my pc and it works as i tried the tutorials with led. now i am trying to install the distance sensor in the arduino and then to work with it in max.msp I tried by reading forums and tutorial but i haven't solve it yet. I have download the patch between arduino and max/msp. It seems quiet difficult to me and I would appreciate if you can help me by explaining me what is the best way to solve it out.

I am sorry by I don't know many things about programming so maybe my expessions are not technical. thanks

hi

you should break down the tasks into two stages:

1. get the arduino talking to MAX, and
  2. get the sensor connected properly to the Arduino.

I’d suggest starting with the switch tutorial, and making that talk to MAX.

What software did you downlaod for the Arduino and MAX?

Non-technical language is OK here :slight_smile:

D

I have the Arduino2Max, a max patch and I changed also the serial port in the patch.
I do not have serial but a port, and i made the changes in device manager etc.

In the patch, in the serial port settings when i press print it appears : ( port d: com4:)
and when i press on the the button under it shows a signal.
is that mean that works? :-/

hi

there is an Arduino Sketch ( the file that ends in .pde) with the Arduino2Max package… that file has to be uploaded to the Arduino. Did you do that part yet? Just open it in the Arduino software, and program it into the Arduino.

D

i did that and i upload it, it has no errors i can see also that the board receive and transfer. (tx and rx lights) So now the arduino board is talking to max/msp.. i tried the patch and it works, the numbers in the analog pins are changing and also one digital pin. so the first step is done!?

hey