Distinction between LOW and FALLING modes in attachInterrupt

I am new to Arduino and this forum, and am amazed by the amount of information and tutorials - which I have started browsing. I have one (probably) basic question that is puzzling me concerning the 'mode' parameter in attachInterrupt.

Two of the modes are FALLING and LOW, and it's not clear what is the difference between them, On the face of it, both would trigger the ISR when the pin goes from HIGH to LOW, but is that all? I find LOW to be a little odd for an interrupt since it describes a pin state, and interrupts are surely event-driven.

I want an interrupt to be generated when a button is operated bringing the interrupt pin from HIGH to LOW, so I would expect to use the FALLING mode. But when would you use LOW, and what would it do that's different from FALLING?

If this is already addressed somewhere, or this query should be in a different part of the forum, I apologise, and perhaps I could be redirected.

Thanks,
Paul.

FALLING triggers an interrupt when the signal changes from HIGH to LOW. LOW fires the interrupt for the ENTIRE time the signal remains LOW. So, if your ISR returns while the signal is LOW, the ISR will immediately be called again, after executing only a single instruction back in the foreground task. LOW is almost never the right choice for the interrupt mode...

Regards,
Ray L.

paulfryer:
I want an interrupt to be generated when a button is operated bringing the interrupt pin from HIGH to LOW