Distributed Wireless Battery-powered LED Display (Arduino Newbie Questions)

I am new to Arduino and seeking a jump-start for a small project.

The project will consist of a control node and 2 or more wireless receiver nodes. The control node will communicate on/off and discrete level data for 10-200 simultaneous signals in the receiver nodes. Signals will be interpreted at approximately 30hz. The signals will drive LEDs. The receiver nodes will have line-of-sight to the control node at a distance of 50-100 feet (15-30 meters). Ambient light sensors will be incorporated to automate LED output levels.

No error correction or data security is required. Low power consumption, low latency (responsiveness), and low cost are important. All nodes will be powered by batteries. The control node will have ample battery power. The receiver nodes will have light-weight batteries with limited capacity. These batteries may have solar recharging. The system should be capable of operating for at least 7 days without recharge.

I will be programming from a PC. Ultimately, uploading programs wirelessly will become convenient.

Q: What Arduino model will best suit the control unit? Q: What wireless solution (e.g. XBee, Bluetooth) fits best? Q: What batteries best match the Arduino? Q: What is (minimally) needed to translate control signals and LED display in the receiver nodes?

TIA