DIY Thermistor Fan Control Sketch Problems

Hello.

Let me start by saying when it comes to the Arduino IDE I am a novice with just a little experience and a very basic understanding of programming structure and basic commands. Whenever I am working on a project I normally combine and modify bits of example code to use for my projects.

Let me explain what I am trying to do. I have a TIG welder that has a very loud cooling fan that runs constant. For my very light duty requirements, this is not necessary. So, I am planning on placing at least one thermistor on an internal heatsink and using the temperature to activate a relay if it goes above a threshold, which will power the fan.

My plan was to use the code I found online a while ago which converts a thermistor reading to a temperature value in the serial monitor (Thermistor_100k), and combine it with a simple if-else statement.

The confusion comes from all of the math and conversions needed in the thermistor code to convert it to a temperature. I have no idea how I would set a threshold to power a pin at or above a predetermined temperature.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and Thank You in advance! :slight_smile:

Thermistor_100k.ino (632 Bytes)

That math you are worried about is converting the analogRead() value into a temperature (T) so all you have to do is compare that variable 'T' with your setpoint using an if() statement and then react to it.

As for the fan, it probably can't be run directly from an arduino pin. Does it just have power/ground or more wires? What voltage is it operating at? 12V, 120Vac, ??? You most likely will need a relay in your circuit so the arduino turns on the relay which powers on the fan.

You'll also need to add some Hysteresis around your set point to keep the fan from cycling on and off continuously with a short period. That would end being more annoying that having it on all the time.

gfvalvo: