DMX control of Bliptronics products

Hi All

I would like to control the I2C and SPI LED products supplied by Bliptronics by DMX.
I know there is a good arduino library for DMX and also some code for controlling the bliptronics products to make them run chases and patterns, but I can't find anything on how to talk to the led's individually so I have no idea how to 'bolt' the two codes together.

I wondered if anyone has done this or can point me in a direction to be able to make this work.

I am surprised that no one has done this as a project yet. You can probably tell I am a beginner, I am ashamed to have to ask, but I am just not sure where to start.

Obviously if I do manage to make this work I will post up any working code.

Thanks if anyone can help.

I assume you can already control the LEDs via the code from the site.

Do you want to use anexisting DMX controller to talk to your arduino that controls the lights?

if so ...

From this post ...
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1161181994
There is this link ...
http://blog.wingedvictorydesign.com/2009/03/20/receive-dmx-512-with-an-arduino/

If that is what you are looking to do, I am curious what using a DMX controller buys you in this case.

If that is not - please explain more about if you want arduino to act as a DMX Controller or Device?

Hi Thanks for the reply.

I have already seen the link you posted for the DMX receiver. Yes I have used the sample code from the Bliptronics site to make the led's run a programmed pattern.

What I would like to do is 'bolt' the two together, thus having control over each led via DMX. This allows you to control each led as part of a light show alongside other lighting products from the same controller.

So the Arduino would receive DMX in from an existing controller and then control the bliptronics led's via SPI or 2 Wire output.