Do I need a voltage divider, ADC or something else?

So I know you will probably groan when I say, I am quite new to this (despite being quite old) and then again when I tell you I am building a greenhouse monitoring system; but please bear with me.

I am on my umpteenth incarnation of this project having originally built it work with a nano using the basic of 1 DHT11, 1 Soil Moisture Probe and a gas sensor. I had it working satisfactorily (relatively sensible readings from these rather unstable moisture modules) but decided it would be nice to monitor the status when I am not here.

I juggled things around, got rid of the MQ135 sensor and added more soil moisture probes. Wanting to monitor it remotely I swapped the board from a Nano to a NodeMCU WiFi Lua Lolin V3 ESP8266 ESP-12F.
I spent some time working out how to connect it WiFi, build the obligatory Blynk app to turn an LED on and off via my smartphone etc. Learned a lot along the way.

Anyway; I have my NodeMCU set up to read the Temp & Humidity through a DHT11 Module (DHT22 on the way) as well as the moisture modules. These 3 moisture modules are connected to the one NodeMCU analogue pin (A0) using relays switching each moisture sensor module on for 15s (allowing time for them to settle before reading) and preventing signals colliding on the A0 pin etc.
Sensor 1 is in air, sensor 2 is in a damp cloth, sensor 3 is fully immersed in water up to the black lacquer.
Now for the life of me, I can not get a sensible reading from the moisture modules. Sensor readings are as follows

Serial Output:

Connecting to Riverside 4G 2.4Ghz
15:15:22.302 -> [4913] Connected to WiFi
15:15:22.302 -> [4913] IP: xxx.168.0.xxx
15:15:22.337 -> [4913]
15:15:22.337 -> ___ __ __
15:15:22.372 -> / _ )/ /_ _____ / /__
15:15:22.406 -> / _ / / // / _ / '/
15:15:22.440 -> /
//_, /////_
15:15:22.474 -> /
__/ v0.6.1 on NodeMCU
15:15:22.509 ->
15:15:22.509 -> [4990] Connecting to blynk-cloud.com:80
15:15:22.544 -> [5154] Ready (ping: 76ms).