Do I need led drivers to control 256 RGB leds ( 50 mA) ?

Hello everyone,

I come to you because I'm kind of new to electronics ( i'm a french engineering school student ) and I need some advice on my project : being able to display, thanks to rgb led strings, "pixel art-ish" images.
It has already been done a lot of times but there is something I quite don't understand:

I kind of get ( please correct me if I'm wrong ) that a driver's goal is to make sure a Led is getting the right amount of electricity but also it has to do with the number of devices (here Leds) that the arduino can control via I²C bus.

What bothers me is that in this project, they are using something like 15*15 WS2812B Leds, ( the exact same as I'll probably work with ) without any driver.

Can it realistically work that way ?

How many Leds can a arduino Uno safely control via I²C bus ?

Thank you in advance for your answers =) .

How many Leds can a arduino Uno safely control via I²C bus ?

I can’t think of any safety issues in controlling LEDs over I2C

Thanks for replying that fast =) ,

The teacher in charge said the arduino uno could only handle a number of leds via I²C and we may certainly need a driver to increase that number.

Is he right ?

You linked to a project with addressable WS2812B LEDs.
Addressable LEDs use their own one-wire protocol.
They have nothing to do with I2C.
Leo..

Ohhh .... ok didn't know that, that could explain a lot.

Thank you Leo.

With WS2812B LEDs the driver is in the package along with the three colored LEDs. The single data input to the first chip is regenerated inside the chip and passed onto the next. So in theory you can have as many LEDs as you want.