Do not understand SEN0038 program

Hi guys,

I'm still new to arduino. recently i have been finding an encoder for my wheels. And the solution was the SEN0038. Although i understand the basic concept of how it works, but i do not understand the sample program. Can someone kindly explain the code at the bottom to me please.

Next i understand that the arduion no uno board has interupt pins set specifically on pin 2 and 3. Is it possible to use other pin numbers for the interupt function?

[/code]

#define LEFT 0
#define RIGHT 1

long coder[2] = {0,0};
int lastSpeed[2] = {0,0};  

void setup(){

Serial.begin(9600);                            //init the Serial port to print the data
  attachInterrupt(LEFT, LwheelSpeed, CHANGE);    //init the interrupt mode for the digital pin 2
  attachInterrupt(RIGHT, RwheelSpeed, CHANGE);  //init the interrupt mode for the digital pin 3

}

void loop(){

static unsigned long timer = 0;                //print manager timer

if(millis() - timer > 100){                  
    Serial.print("Coder value: ");
    Serial.print(coder[LEFT]);
    Serial.print("[Left Wheel] ");
    Serial.print(coder[RIGHT]);
    Serial.println("[Right Wheel]");

lastSpeed[LEFT] = coder[LEFT];  //record the latest speed value
    lastSpeed[RIGHT] = coder[RIGHT];
    coder[LEFT] = 0;                //clear the data buffer
    coder[RIGHT] = 0;
    timer = millis();
  }

}

void LwheelSpeed()
{
  coder[LEFT] ++;  //count the left wheel encoder interrupts
}

void RwheelSpeed()
{
  coder[RIGHT] ++; //count the right wheel encoder interrupts
}

What part of it don't you understand? Explaining the whole thing in detail is too long winded.

On UNO you can only have two of them and they must use 2 or 3 only. On MEGA 2560 you also get pins 18-21 for interrupt use. Other boards I don’t know.