do while in an interrupt

I want to program a short delay inside an interrupt that is generated by Timer1.

delayMicroseconds() doesn’t seem to work, as if there is a conflict with my having set Timer1. So I tried the following code to check micros() in a loop until the appropriate time has passed. This works fine in the main loop, but it hangs the program when it’s in the Timer1 interrupt routine, or even when it is in the int.0 interrupt.

Any suggestion? I’ve spent a couple hours on this.

tmp = micros();
  while (micros() - tmp < 500) {
  }

Any suggestion?

You could try posting your code.

micros does not increment when an ISR is being run.

And 500 micros is 100x to long a delay to use in an ISR.

Mark

holmes4: micros does not increment when an ISR is being run.

?

micros does not increment when an ISR is being run.

I'm no expert but I am guessing what he means is that the definition of an interrupt is that the processor stops everything else it is doing to do a specific thing and so it can't run a delay but I found this post:

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,41819.0.html

Where it says this :

A- Is there some rule against using a delay in an interrupt call?

B- If so, why does delayMicroseconds() work? (not good for me who needs a longer delay though)

So I'm guessing the "?" is a reference to the contradiction between "A" and "B".

There is no contradiction, because delay != delayMicroseconds.

However, any delay (no function) in interrupt context should be seriously thought about.

delay != delayMicroseconds.

Ok. Got it. delay(mS); is NOT ALLOWED but delayMicroseconds is.

This might be relevant: http://www.iar.com/Global/Resources/Developers_Toolbox/C_Cplusplus_Programming/Interrupt%20Service%20Routine%20calling%20functions.pdf

raschemmel: This might be relevant: file:///M:/Temp/ARDUINO%20UNO/DATASHEETS/Interrupt%20Service%20Routine%20calling%20functions.pdf

We can't read a file on your M: drive. ;)