Documentation for Programmers?

I realize that I’m not the target audience for this, but…

I’m an experienced embedded C programmer, and I’m looking for documentation describing just how the arduino/wiring/processing environment differs from more conventional C development and runtime environments, and just how I should approach the whole thing as a programmer.

Does such a document exist?

have you checked the “hacking” part of the website? It may help you. Otherwise I think it is interesting to see how to answer you, since it may be useful for many others.

Can you a little more specific?

/d

Yes, this document http://www.arduino.cc/en/Hacking/BuildProcess answered about half of my questions. The other half has more to do with the runtime environment. I gather that the arduino core calls setup() and then repeatedly calls loop(). OK. How big is my stack? Is anything else initialized? Is “it” compatible with standard gcc library functions, or do some of those need to be avoided? What does the runtime do, or what can I get it to do, in between “loop()” invocations? Why this particular structure? I guess part of the idea is to simplify C/C++? What things can I count on having the environment do well for me, and what things must I revert to “real C” for? Are there C and/or C++ structures that must or should be avoided? If it’s so flexible, how come no one has written and arduino core for the Butterfly board? Um… that’ll do for now.

Take a look at the source code to the Arduino core - it’s in the lib/targets/arduino subdirectory of the Arduino application directory, or online at: http://svn.berlios.de/wsvn/arduino/trunk/targets/arduino/?rev=0&sc=0.

A few things are initialized: timer 0 to keep track of the timing needed for the millis() functions, and timers 0, 1 and 2 for PWM generation. The analog to digital converter is initialized and the prescaler set.