Doe Read TIming

I'll admit I'm new to Arduino, so maybe this is a silly question.

A little background; I needed to greatly decrease my read and write cycle times, as I found the standard library functions (i.e.digitalRead() & digitalWrite()) took way too much time for my application. After much reading of the blogs I finally found that the Due has direct port read and write capability that is (sort of) supported by the IDE and compiler which greatly decrease the overhead. Unfortunately I've not found any complete listing of the compiler keywords that the compiler understands for this purpose, I've only found a few of these and some other hints on figuring out the rest. However I can now read and write to any of the ports with minimum delays using these keywords.
So for example to set bit PC21;
iREG_PIOC_SODR = 0x00200000;
or to reset the same bit:
REG_PIOC_CODR = 0x00200000;
To read an entire port, for example to read port C:
PortC = REG_PIOC_PDSR;

The fact that the Due has redefined the definition of an "int" as a 32-bit value didn't help, until I discovered this fact. :-/

That said, now that I can read and write bits or entire ports values quickly, I need to synchronize my reads and writes. In my case I'm reading a 12-bit bus from a high speed ADC and need to properly time and write a short (~50nS) pulse to trigger a sensor, then read a returned signal that's also ~50nS but some number of nS later. I can time this pulse I'm outputting fairly well by using these direct write commands and NOP's to control the fine timing and duration of the output pulse. But to properly read the return signal I really need to look at it on an oscilloscope and adjust the timing relative to my sensors return signal and the read cycle.