Does a mosfet require PWM?

I want to use a mosfet to dim an LED light strip at 0.5 amps. Do I need to use an arduino and PWM or can I just connect a POT across the mosfet gate? I'm using a 12v light strip as a brake light and wish to have it illuminated when just the tail lights are on like a Dual element tail light bulb

Thank You

If you just use a pot the FET will operate in the linear region. That means it will get much hotter than if you use PWM. In effect it will burn off the unwanted power.

Well I have an irf520n mosfet running a 0.5 amp load. I have heat sinks and an arduino but it seems like an overly simple task for an arduino. What would you recommend?

Also I have the strip cut in half and one half wired to each tail light but I know wiring in the mosfet will connect the two halves in parallel so I need to use a couple diodes. Would a 1n4007 diode running at 0.25 amps per half suffice? I'm not very good at understanding the data sheets

What Grumpy_Mike wrote is more theory than practical.
I think it is okay to say that a mosfet does require PWM. That is when the mosfet is at its best.

Can you make a drawing or schematic with the diodes ? I don’t understand why you would need them.

Peter_n: What Grumpy_Mike wrote is more theory than practical.

Why do you think that then?

Since wikitjuggla is a beginner (sorry wikitjuggla), and it is about a led strip. Using a pot meter would be very hard and the mosfet could get too hot without heatsink. So yes, in this situation is pwm needed, and a pot meter would even be wrong :cold_sweat:

A mosfet can be used in an analog circuit, like in a radio transmitter amplifier. :open_mouth: