does Arduino wifi sheild R3 exist ? and compare arduino wifi to adafruit wifi

Hi guys,

I am working on a project where I need to connect my android app to arduino through wifi. I am currently using arduino 2560 adk.

Now, I have read a lot of posts where users say that they have arduino wifi shield r3, but when I try to find this version r3 , I only come across a generic arduino wifi shield .. no r3 or anything , can anyone explain me if there is an R3 and if yes what is the difference between this r3 and the one in the link.

http://au.element14.com/arduino/a000058/shield-arduino-wifi-intg-antenna/dp/2212785

Also, has anyone tried adafruit cc3000 and link here

If yes, how was their experience with CC3000? I am a bit inclined to go cc3000 given its way cheaper.. but a bit scared as I am still learning and wouldnt want to struggle with set up on cc3000 for saving some money

Many thanks!

Yes, the R3 Wifi shield exisits. Here is one on the Adafruit website.

Even though this is not mentioned that it is an R3, it is.

The Adafruit cc3000 wifi controller is not compatible with the Arduino wifi library. I personally have no experience with the cc3000 controller.

The Arduino WiFi shield library has a problem with the server part of the library, but if you are using only TCP client and UDP, it works ok for me.

Hi surfer tim,

The first link is for ethernet shield , i couldnt find arduino wifi shield on adafruit.

perhaps you could resend the link please..

Thanks

Oops! My bad. :blush: Adafruit does not carry the Arduino wifi shield, and I am actually a bit surprised they don't.

The second link is to the official wifi shield from Arduino. It is an R3. You can tell the R3 from previous versions by the two extra pins on each side of the shield. Note next to the AREF pin there are an SDA and SCL pins. Those pins are not present on the R2 and earlier Arduino boards.

Here is the Uno page. It has pics of both the R3 and R2 boards. Note the extra sockets on the R3.