Does brightness of an LED bulb have to be set in the loop function?

Hello, I am relatively new to using C, so I began to experiment with the standard Arduino UNO microcontroller board to see if I could emit light through an LED bulb in a sequence of durations. I am attempting to create a simple Morse code translator, so the shorter durations of light would represent the dots in Morse, while the longer durations would represent the dashes.

My problem: I am having trouble actually emitting any light at all. I am certain that I have the pins in the correct orientation, as it was just working previously when I ran a simple LED fade-in/fade-out sketch. I am using the same components in this sketch (a connecting wire, a resistor, and an LED bulb).

I am wondering why the brightness of the bulb is not affected when I run the sketch. I have a bool which is switched on, and then off after a delay(). I do not think that there is anything wrong with my logic, but if there is I have attached the script below. I have mostly commented the code, but if anything is unclear please notify me. I can’t see anything fundamentally different between this sketch and my fade sketch other than the fact that I am turning the LED on (setting the brightness) in a separate function rather than in the loop() function. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you

MorseCodeSketch.ino (3.95 KB)

Attached code:

I’ll comment next.

// Morse code
// turn light on and off at a certain sequence of speeds
// Letters and their corresponding morse code translations are held in a char array
// dots and dashes are represented by a character
// 'S' represents a dot, while 'L' represents a dash
// '/' represents a space
// Iterate through the input sentence char array
// For each letter in the sentence, find that letter in the morse code char array
// Once the letter is found, iterate through the morse code array until you don't find an 'S', 'L', or '/'
// Emit the light accordingly