Does this possible with Arduino ??

Hello there, I am new to Arduino - and have a project need to be done. Please let me know if you think it's possible doing it using Arduino.

I need to create a multiply "remote controls" that have 4 button on it - 1,2,3,4. I need to collect using PC statistics of how many "remote controls" press any of these buttons.

It is possible ? What is the limit of remote controls can send the info simultaneously ?

I thought about and idea of how managing it - so there will no be limit of remote controls : Every remote control have serial number. The PC send request for remote control number 1 - please send info. When the PC recevie this info (or timeout), he send request for number 2 and so on. The question is how much time it will take for let's say 200 remote controls... ?

Thanks for your help and regards ! Ofer

Trying to make a quiz sort of thing? :) Are you thinking wireless or wired?

I wouldn't go with the polled method personally. I'd use a protocol like I2C which allows collisions gracefully. Basically with I2C multiple devices can talk together and if there is a collision then it will sort its self out automatically. It uses 7 bit addresses which means up to 128 devices per bus.

What you want to do is easily possible.

yeah... Some kind of quiz ... 8-)

Wireless ofcourse, for wired I don't need the Arduino or anything else, I just connect all the buttons directly to the PC....

I don't familiar with I2C. Can you describe it for me ? If I need more than 128 at a time ? it is possible ?

Which other hardware I need to accomplish this mission ? Does the Arduino software will be complicated ?

Please guide me as much as possible

Thanks & regards, Ofer

Wireless ofcourse, for wired I don't need the Arduino or anything else, I just connect all the buttons directly to the PC....

Actually you couldnt. There is no way to attach that many things to a computer.