DOGM128 Arduino Uno U8G2 interfacing

Hi everybody,
I am a newbie in Arduino development. I am trying to use Arduino Uno + U8G2 lib + EA Dogm128 monochrome display. The thing is that it doesn't work.

I am using the basic HelloWorld example to get started. The display doesn't show anything. I have only a basic multimeter so I can only measure the DC on single pins.

I have 2x1.5V batteries (that actually supply 3.1V in series). I was using a level translator from 5V->3V but after some static test I noticed it had voltage degradation problems on many pins (maybe the soldering went wrong) so I am currently doing the test in 2 steps (1) load the sketch from PC into Arduino (2) i disconnect arduino from USB cable and power it with the battteries which power the rest of the circuit.

I am using the proper backlit led panel suggested by the manufacturer with 3 series resistors as current source.

The constructor i am using from U8G2 is.

U8G2_ST7565_EA_DOGM128_F_4W_HW_SPI u8g2(U8G2_R0, /* cs=/ 10, / dc=/ 9, / reset=*/ 8 ) ;

I am attaching the connections I made as image.

BLACK Chip Select, WHITE Reset, GRAY Data/Command, PURPLE Serial Clock, BLUE MasterOutSlaveIn.

The following is the connection scheme I have adopted more or less.

The level translators are missing because of the reason I said above. The reset pin is directly connected to the pin specified in the class constructor instead of being pulled up by 10k resistor.

I do not have a digital scope right now so I do not know what to check with a voltmeter.

Do you have any idea?

Hi

I see two problems here:

1. 3.3V Operation
    To my knowledge, the Arduino Uno will not work with 3.3V power supply. So I assume, that u8g2 does not run at all. I guess you must use level shifters here.

2. Breadboard
    These prototyping breadboards are very unreliable. It is much better to solder the setup. If it is still for prototyping, use female pin headers for the dogm128 display. This is still much more reliable.