Don't know where to start...

Hello,

I’m interested in purchasing an Arduino, except I don’t know what product/model to get. I have previous experience from using BASIC STAMP in high school and I’m comfortable with a couple of programming languages (C++, VB.net, Pascal and Java) so I think learning the language for arduino will be quite easy. Also, I have basic electronic knowledge, played with circuits before, and know the functions of the basic components. In addition, I’m not worried about soldering.

What I’m interested in doing is getting myself Android for hobby related tasks. Like try different things just for fun. I’m interested mainly in Wireless Control. For example, I want to be able to control an arduino from the computer, maybe using bluetooth. For example, I would initiate a keypress on the computer, and the arduino would respond (let’s say turn on a LED). Is that possible ? Finally, I am using Ubuntu Linux as my operating system, is the software compatible ?

Thanks

Even for someone who’s used Circuits before/is comfortable with soldering, I would suggest the Arduino Duemilanove.

It’s a great way to get into the whole idea, because it brings out all pins without the need to solder or connect to a breadboard. It works great and is fairly versatile.

I would initiate a keypress on the computer, and the arduino would respond (let’s say turn on a LED). Is that possible ?

Certainly! There are many ways of going about it though (WiFi, Radio Frequency, Bluetooth, etc.)

I am using Ubuntu Linux as my operating system, is the software compatible ?

I’m nearly positive it can be run on Linux, I just don’t remember how :P.

the software in in java, so it will run on darn near anything

as far as which model, I dont help people in this topic, cause what is wonderful for me may not be for you