Door Opening + Counting Presses

Hi! I'm fairly new to Arduino and still trying to learn the ropes. I have a project where I am trying to mimic a hotel door, in that it will only allow 4 people in at a time. I want to be able to press a button, have the sweep function occur on a servo motor after the button press, and I want the program to count up (baseline of 0, maximum of 5). Once it reaches the 5th button press, I want the servo to NOT work. I'd also need ANOTHER button to "leave the room", aka subtract from the number that is being counted (as if someone had left the room).

I'm not sure exactly what codes would be best to use. I've been looking through examples but am having a hard time parsing what sorts of codes to use to create this system.

I'd really appreciate any help and if you have any questions, please let me know.

Do you know how to read the switches? The State Change Detection example does. You only want to count up or down when the appropriate switch BECOMES pressed, not when the switch IS pressed.

Do you know how to sweep the servo? There are examples provided with the IDE to move the servo in different ways.

This is my Frankenstein’s monster of code so far.
It’s not complete yet but I think I’m on the right path:

#include <Servo.h>
// constants won’t change. They’re used here to
// set pin numbers:
Servo myservo;
const int buttonPin = 2; // the number of the pushbutton pin

// variables will change:
int buttonPushCounter = 0;
int buttonState = 0; // variable for reading the pushbutton status
int lastButtonState = 0;
int pos = 0; // variable to store the servo position

void setup() {
// initialize the pushbutton pin as an input:
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
myservo.attach(9); // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
// read the state of the pushbutton value:
buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

// compare the buttonState to its previous state
if (buttonState != lastButtonState) {