Doorbell modifications

Howdy!

I am venturing into the world of arduino. It's exciting and reminds me of high school electronics class, though I've forgotten much of that after over 20 years.

I thought of a useful safety project. First a little background abut why.
I have a nice doorbell in my home, the mechanical kind with large tubular "chimes" and electric coil and piston type strikers (I think there is a special name for these guys, but I've forgotten).

A while back, when on vacation, upon return the doorbell want working, and it turns out the button had become stuck in the on position. As it turns out, this is dangerous, as the repetitive activation of the electromechanical striker device can result in a fire. Indeed there was perhaps some smoke generated and a trace of a mark on the wall near the bell. I ended up replacing the unit and button. The potential for another stuck button remains however.

I'm a pretty terrible programmer, but here are some thoughts about a sketch. It would need to limit the frequency that the bell will ring, and will monitor the existing button. It would also detect if the beer is stuck, as opposed to being just repetitively pressed by a prankster for instance. It might also have a sleep mode to prevent being waken in the night by a bell ringer. Using the BOUNCE function with some modification might be the answer, and perhaps also adding code to limit how frequently the bell will ring, deactivating it during the nighttime hours, so it would need to have a time-keeping ability possibly. This isn't strictly essential however.