Drive-By-wire pedal with a servo Please Help

drive by wire gas pedal from 06 nissan sentra
15lb force hobby servo
Roboduino Arduino board

I have the crazy project that i am using a drive by wire gas pedal (aka digital throttle) with a hobby servo. I am having a difficult time finding an answer to this problem. When i use the Arduino Knob Servo control, i cannot stop the servo from chattering. when i use a regular pot or this pedal, i have the same issue. I know what your thinking, you need an ecm for this pedal to work. not so, its just an oversized pot in the shape of a gas pedal. i am very new to all of this programming and all i really need to do is stop this servo from spazing out. any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

The DBW pedal should have 2 potmeters, with some ohms different, these 2 are used by the ECU, but how the ECU converts them i dont know.

this pedal has 2 pots in it. they are 2 regular everyday pots one is 5k ohm and the other is 10k ohm. i need to know how to make the servo to stop being erratic. this happens with any pot i hook to the roboduino

It would help to see your code posted. However it sounds like you are seeing normal variation (noise) in the raw A/D conversion from the pot. Depending on the quality of the pot, they can be a little noisy on there own.
It would most likely be better if you took say eight measurements in a row, added them together, and then divide by eight. This will act like a filter and should smooth out the analog reading you work from.

Lefty

and you shouldn't forget to ground any analog ins that are not in use. I had the problem when using a phototransistor some weeks ago, look at this:

Phototransistor output with all other analog ins unconnected:

Phototransistor output with all other analog ins grounded:

Pictures were taken with LogView, which is a nice little program to use once it's setup correctly.
Hope I could help,

Otacon2k

and you shouldn't forget to ground any analog ins that are not in use.