Driving 32 Led without multiplexing

Hello everyone,, Im doing a DIY proyect and i would like to keep it as simple as possible. I need to drive 32 (20mA) leds in a line. Not a matrix. I have read that the max power of the Arduino Mega is 200mA global, so im way over it as they will be all turned on at some point.

Is there an IC that could get 32 inputs from the arduino and output them without the limited power of the motherboard?

I'm a noob, and even with all i read about multiplexing it seems to be too much for me.

Thanks in advance

You could cascade four SN74HC595s and drive them with shiftOut().

The MAX7219 is mentioned often for driving LEDs.

Two things:

Do you really need to push the leds to there max?

Please explain "leds in a line". All in series? Do you need individual control? Only on/off or also dimming? (Yes, I count this as a single thing ;) )

Ressler: I'm doing a DIY project and i would like to keep it as simple as possible.

Then as a "noob" you are approaching it completely in the wrong manner. :astonished:

Ressler: I need to drive 32 (20mA) leds in a line. Not a matrix.

Then you do not comprehend what a matrix is electrically. It is in fact, the simple approach. Easier to wire and actually somewhat easier to program!

Ressler: I have read that the max power of the Arduino Mega is 200mA global, so I'm way over it as they will be all turned on at some point.

Fine. Not a problem.

Ressler: Is there an IC that could get 32 inputs from the Arduino and output them without the limited power of the motherboard?

No. And yes. Obviously you do not get 32 inputs from your Nano (waste of time using a Mega 2560) to one chip but there is a proper way to do it.