Driving 70v 6.3A Bipolar Stepper

I have been reading forum posts about big steppers but none seem as big as the one I have on my desk. I am just getting started with Arduino and have successfully put together a small stepper with the adafruit stepper shield.

I have a 4 wire bipolar motor that the data sheet says can run on 32v to 70v. I have a nice 70v dc power supply. On the motor it says 1288 oz-in 6.3A .49 ohm 1.8 degree step.

I don't see any shields out there that can handle this kind of power. What can I do ?

Thanks for your help. Bernn

You will need an industrial motor driver for that beast. Here are some examples http://anaheimautomation.com/products/stepper/stepper-drivers.php?tID=87&pt=t&cID=20

Those specs make it clear it's intended for PWM / chopper drive.

70V Across .49 ohms would be 140 amps! IF it was not pwm'd.

Can you point to the spec?? Is it for the motor alone, or a motor-driver combination?

It's from Automation Direct. Model # STP-MTRH-34127 http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Motion_Control/Stepper_Systems/Stepper_Motors_-z-_Cables/STP-MTRH-34127 I have their Step Motor Driver STP-DRV-80100 to go with it. http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Motion_Control/Stepper_Systems/Stepper_Drives_-z-_Power/STP-DRV-80100 I wasn't sure if it is something I could hook the Arduino up to, though. They have their own language to control it over a serial connection, but I wanted to try to use the Arduino. The inputs on the step motor driver are : GND AIN =5V OUT- OUT+ EN- EN+ DIR- DIR+ STEP- STEP+

Yes, all industrial stepper drivers have opto-isolated inputs for step, direction and enable, you need to see from the datasheet how the opto isolated inputs are wired (if you are lucky you just connect -EN, -STEP, -DIR to Arduino ground and +EN, +STEP, +DIR to Arduino pins and away you do (requires that the driver have current-limiting resistors on the opto-isolated inputs). If there aren't resistors you add some yourself.