Driving IR Emitters @ 80mA

Hi. As you might have probably guessed from the topic subject, I have a problem with IR LEDs.
I am a beginner in the world of electronics, I also own my first Arduino Uno I bought to play around with electronics :slight_smile:
(got it in the Arduino Starter Kit 1)

The goal of my project is quite easy, send IR codes to my Air Conditioner / TV set.

1. I have used my IR receiver ( + de-modulator 38 kHz, which is quite standard), to obtain codes for my AC by pointing my remote at it and recording codes ( turns out my AC uses UNKNOWN codeset and the TV uses NEC). In case of the UNKNOWN codeset, I recorded raw codes and used sendRAW function to send them to the AC.

I am just posting about it here so other people with the same issue might find it helpful :slight_smile:

1. I have used IRremote library to create this logic, both for receiving and sending codes
  2. I managed to test it on my TV set, and it worked (yeey :D) but I had to place Arduino like 5 cm in front of the receiver for it to work. :slight_smile: This is where things started going south.

My first conclusion here was that the LED did not have enough power (and by pointing my phone's camera at it, it became clear that's the case, the light was too dim, especially compared to the light coming from my remote which was as twice as bright - if not more).

I have read online that most LEDs require around 20 mA. What stumped me is that the LED I have can tolerate up to 100mA for maximum brightness (at least it says so in the documentation under "forward current").

I know that for optimal performance, it might be best to keep my LED at 80% of the power, which should be 80 mA.
So, how the hell do I supply 80 mA to it and still control it from my digital out pins? Transistors?