Driving stepper motor with Arduino and A4988

Hello everyone,

I just want to warn you that I am still an Arduino newbie, so please don’t be too tough with me :slight_smile: !

This message is an update of the project from this thread : https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=500786.0

I made quite a bit of progress on the project. The circuit now looks something like this :

I am now able to control the motor speed and time of running from an interactive menu, displayed on the Nokia 5110 LCD screen (https://www.gotronic.fr/art-module-graphique-84x48-points-lcd10168-21944.htm). Everything in the menu is controlled via a rotary encoder (https://fr.rs-online.com/web/p/encodeurs-rotatifs-mecaniques/6234237/), presented right below on the scheme. The motor (Stepper Motor: Bipolar, 200 Steps/Rev, 35×36mm, 2.7V, 1 A/Phase) is controlled with a A4988 from pololu (Pololu - A4988 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier) and powered with a 24V, 1A power supply (http://fr.rs-online.com/web/p/alimentations-enfichables/7066524/).

I am really happy with how the small project works except from one small detail.

I am currently running the motor using this kind of code :

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
/*Importing Libraries*/

#include <ClickEncoder.h>

/*Setting variables*/

const int stepPin = 9; 
const int dirPin = 8;
boolean middle = false;

ClickEncoder *encoder;
int16_t last, value;

/*Setup*/

void setup() {

pinMode(stepPin,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dirPin,OUTPUT);

encoder = new ClickEncoder(A1, A0, A2); 
}

/*Loop*/

void loop() {

ClickEncoder::Button b = encoder->getButton(); /*Checks if Encoder central button is pressed*/
   if (b != ClickEncoder::Open) {
   switch (b) {
      case ClickEncoder::Clicked:
         middle=true;
        break;
    }
  }   

if (middle) //Middle Button is Pressed
  {
    middle = false;
    digitalWrite(dirPin,LOW); // Enables the motor to move in a particular direction