DS3231 dateFormat apparently not working, though dateTime has value

I'm new to Arduino and the various sensors and tools, though I'm not new to C.

I'm trying to implement a datalogger using a real time clock module. I wired up my sample board to my mega, got a red light on the clock, and started testing some output along the lines of ...

DS3231 clock;
RTCDateTime dt;

void setup()
{
  clock.begin();
  clock.setDateTime(2018, 12, 18, 09, 01, 00);
}

void loop()
{
  dt = clock.getDateTime();
  Serial.print("Date Time:");
  Serial.println(clock.dateFormat("d-m-Y H:i:s", dt));
  delay(1000);
}

When I run this, I get nothing but ... "Date Time:" followed by no value.

Being new to Arduino, I naturally assumed the problem was in the wiring, so I checked and rechecked, taking the clock off the breadboard and eventually wiring it up directly. But I got the same results.

However, I finally thought to try something else. I added the line

Serial.println(dt.year);

And up popped the results "2018". I can get results for every other part of the datetime structure, down to the second. So it seems that the real time clock is up, running, and returning a dateTime structure in dt.

However, no matter what string I try, dateFormat returns nada. I've looked through numerous examples and don't see what I'm missing -- but I'm sure I'm missing something blindingly obvious.

And suggestions before I start just making my own format routine? Thanks.

Look at this example : you forgot to add the following lines in the header of your code

#include <Wire.h>
#include <DS3231.h>

Also make sure you use the same library as there may be several with the same name.

No, sorry, I did include the headers in my code. I just didn't show them in the text I typed above (because, of course, without the data structure definition the example would not have compiled).

The clock seems to be working fine. I can do:

dt = clock.getDateTime();
Serial.println(dt.Second);

and watch it counting away.