DS3231 RTC is regularily resetting to 00:00:00 (Arduino Uno project)

Hi everyone!

This is my first post on the forum.

I’m new to Arduino, but I’ve been messing around with DIY electronics for some time now (mostly audio-related projects).

I’ve developped a system (based on an Arduino Uno board) that allows to open two doors with electric strikes :
The first one is triggered through an Arduino Relay Module when a certain value is provided to one of the Analog pins. The second one is also triggered through an Arduino Relay module (I use a 2 Relay module) when a switch is closed.

The system is active at certain hours in the day (and depending on the day), so I’ve also connected a DS3231 RTC module to the project. I chose a DS3231 because of its accuracy, as the system is not connected to the internet.

The issue I’m facing is that the RTC module regularily resets to its factory values (happens once every 2 days to 4 weeks I would say…)

First I thought that the fact that I was using the electric strike Power Supply (12VDC) to also power the Arduino Uno was the cause (I was thinking that humidity in the strike could create a kind of a short, going up to the PSU, and then back down to the Arduino Uno board, causing the DS3231 to reset).

I’m now using a separate PSU for the Arduino Uno board. But the issue keeps happening.

The RTC modules I’m using are these ones :

https://www.robotshop.com/eu/fr/module-rtc-ds3231-horloge-temps-reel-haute-precision-raspberry-pi.html?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIiszondWK6AIVxZrVCh3sVQhFEAQYAyABEgJFSvD_BwE

I found out that the provided battery was weak so I installed a 2032 battery socket and put new Varta batteries (I have several modules that I swap when one resets, but that is not a long-term solution!)

But the issue still seems to be happening…

So now I’m a little lost.

Here is the code I’m using:

#include <DS3231.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <Time.h>

// Initialisation du module horloge DS3231 (SDA, CLOCK)
DS3231 rtc(SDA, SCL);