DSO Nano V3 scope - Newby requires help to use!

Hi folks - sorry for barging in here - total newby to electronics and need some assist. I work mostly on autos and with vast amount of sensors need to upgrade my skill set. After much searching decided on DSO Nano V3 to start with - 1st job is the check a crank sensor on 12v auto system - had a goot route around the web for infor as the instruction manual is pathetically worse than useless. So with my limited knowlege set about trying to get a reading from the sensot at the ecu - got the factory diagram so not a problem location the wires (2 of them for crank & cam sensors - both Hall effect type). Cannot get probes down into plugs so use Power Probe wire piercing probes and attached to them. from what I gathered I needed to set the scope for either 0.1v or 5v and anywhere from 5mv to 50mv. Result - nothing - or at least nothing visable to me. Can anyone assist in helping me understand and set this up to show me a decent freq & duty square wave form??? I will only ever be working in 12v systems if that helps????

Sounds like you don't even know how to set up the scope properly.

The user's manual which you should have linked is only 15 pages. Get familiar with it. According to that manual, the maximum input signal frequency is 1 MHz. You had better hope your signals are slower than that.

A good start would be to get a decent used bench oscilloscope. You can probably find one good to 20MHz, dual trace, for what you paid for the Nano.

That little toy is not good for 1MHz- it has 1Msps sampling rate. That makes it good for about 100kHz real world signals maximum, really more like 50kHz. I would not consider this more than a toy, and barely good enough for audio.

It sounds more like you might not be familiar with how to use an o'scope. A used analog 'scope is a good way to get some experience, and it will work a lot better than that piece of... er, toy.