DTMF? and caller ID info

HI all,
I am new to the arduino community and have searched the board for these topics and found nothing.
Just wondering if the arduino can detect DTMF and decode Caller ID info.

also where can I find a complete list of functions and spefs. like how much flashram does the arduino have.
Thanks
Charlie B.

I am new to the arduino community and have searched the board for these topics and found nothing. Just wondering if the arduino can detect DTMF and decode Caller ID info.

I've got some code and a circuit to connect an 8870 DTMF decoder, but nothing to do it in software.

also where can I find a complete list of functions and spefs. like how much flashram does the arduino have.

16k flash program storage, 2k RAM, and (I think) 1k EEPROM data storage. Check out the ATmega168 datasheet at www.atmel.com for complete details.

-j

wow it is a ham radio festival in here. I am an ex VE3!

Anyway, KG4MXV, I would look in older copies of the HR Handbook, for hardware decoders. IIRC there is a DTMF chip available that does the trick.

D

Try to look at this project.

http://www.bobblick.com/techref/projects/tonedec/tonedec.html

It uses a Basic stmp and a SSI-202 chip.

MikMo http://www.mikmo.dk

I was curious about doing the DTMF in software; a google link returned this project that uses an ATMEGA1281 to do it in sfotware. http://www.rtzaudio.com/kg4lne/micro-rc.asp

And it's by a KG4 ham operator.. KG4 must be the world centre for repeater/DTMF work! Anyway, he has posted full code and schematics.

D

I wonder if this got anywhere? I was thinking it'd be nice to have a CallerID with set numbers that would light one LED to mean "just the in-laws, no emergency". It'd be easier to identify my interest in the call from across the room that way.

Hi Flickerfly,