DTMF decoding using a decoder chip

Hi I am a extra newbie at programming. I can do any sort of hardware interfacing etc but for the life of me I am finding that this programming does not compute in my brain. I can do the easy stuff like turning a port on or off and making delays..all the easy stuff but I am having a hard time trying to understand how to read 4 bits of a port then use that binary number as part of a security code. Maybe a small explaination is easier. I want to make a dtmf controller. it will be using a decoder chip like a 8870 or similar. This puts out the 16 dtmf digits in a 4 bit binary output also it has a DV pin which goes high when it detects a valid tone pair so this needs to be looked at by the arduino. So I need to read when the DV pin goes high then scan 4 bits of the port and stehn compare that number to one that is programmed into the software as a security number. The sequence will be 4625 (security number) then the next 2 digits denote the uotput port and then the state. so to turn channel 1 on it would be 462511... the last number 1 is the state 1 being on and 0 being off. I have looked all over the net and have found some code in assembler but its all gobbldygook and I dont understand what they are doing. The arduino seems a bit simpler in its code for what I have played with. I am sure it will be easy for a lot of you out there. Any help or snipets of code would be really appreciated Regards

Mark

Hi Mark,

You will find it easier if you break your project down into small tasks. Start of by just detecting that a valid DTMF digit has arrived by checking to see if the DV pin has gone high. Perhaps write a test sketch that just prints a message to the serial port to day the DV pin has gone high.

Next you could write a function that reads four consecutive input pins and returns the binary value. Here is one way to do this:

int getDigit()        
{
  int bit = 0;
  int digit = 0;
  for(int pin = 2; pin <= 5; pin++)
  {