Duemilanove @ USB -> only 4 Volt output on Pins?

Hi,

i am a newbie and testing a little bit with the Arduino Duemilanove and find some behaviour which i am not expecting: The voltage of a Digital output pin or the 5V reference pin is 4 Volts. The Board is connected via usb. I was expecting that i can measure 5 Volts on this pins. Why i can only measure 4 Volts on the Pins ? Regards and thx

How are you measuring. No offense, but if you are a newbie perhaps you are not using a DMM correctly (red lead to output pin, black lead to 0V?)

It's not unusual for USB power to be slightly less than 5V if going through a hub. Is this a direct connection or are there one or more hubs between your board and the PC?

It's also possible there's an overcurrent condition and the resettable fuse on the board is dropping voltage. See if you can find the component marked F1 and touch it....is it warm?

-- The Gadget Shield: accelerometer, RGB LED, IR transmit/receive, light sensor, potentiometers, pushbuttons

--

Measuring with black lead to GND on the board. Red lead to Pin6 ( which is set to output high via SW ) or 5V Pin result : 4.00 Volt.

Measuring 3.3 Volt on the 3v3 Pin.

Measuring 5 Volt in the USB Plug.

No thinks are connected to the board. :-/

which is set to output high via SW

And configured as an output?

yes, configured as output:

{

int EnablePin =  6;    //

// The setup() method runs once, when the sketch starts

void setup()   {                
  // initialize the digital pin as an output:
  pinMode(EnablePin, OUTPUT); 
  digitalWrite(EnablePin, HIGH);
}

// the loop() method runs over and over again,
// as long as the Arduino has power

void loop()                     
{

}

}

If the 5V power output pin has only 4V it never mind what is programmed. Please measure the voltage at both sides of the [ch8222]golden[ch8220] fuse near the USB port. If there are 5V then the drop must be caused at the MOSFET NDT2955.