Dumbest guy in class seeks help understanding code

Near absolute noob here and confirmed dumbest bastard in my class. This project has already been submitted (I used another method to address this requirement) so I am not seeking someone to complete my homework assignment - I just don't understand my instructor's approach to this problem (and yes, I've asked him a lot of questions on it but do not fully understand his responses). I'm hoping other experts' explanations may help me understand the overall approach.

The requirement:

Connect 3 LEDs on 3 digital pins
• Blink LEDs at:
– 1 at 1 Hz
– 2 at 4 Hz
– 3 at 5 Hz
• Blink LEDs at:
– 1 Hz
– 3 Hz
– 5 Hz

Instructor's code to address the requirement:

//Blinking LED's
const int LED_1 = 11; //LED connected to digital pin 11
const int LED_2 = 12; //LED connected to digital pin 12
const int LED_3 = 13; //LED connected to digital pin 13

int freqX = 1;
void setup()
{
pinMode(LED_1,OUTPUT); //sets the digital pin as output
pinMode(LED_2,OUTPUT); //sets the digital pin as output
pinMode(LED_3,OUTPUT); //sets the digital pin as output
freqX = 1;

}
//the loop function runs over and over again
void loop() {
if(freqX%4 == 0)digitalWrite(LED_1,HIGH); //turns LED_1 on
if(freqX%2 == 0)digitalWrite(LED_2,HIGH); //turns LED_2 on
digitalWrite(LED_3,HIGH);

if(freqX%8 == 0)digitalWrite(LED_1,LOW); //turns LED_1 off
if(freqX%4 == 0)digitalWrite(LED_2,LOW); //turns LED_2 off
if(freqX%2 == 0)digitalWrite(LED_3,LOW); //turns LED_3 off
delay(200); //waits for a 200 ms
Serial.println("test");
freqX++;
if(freqX == 50) freqX = 1;
}

My questions:

1. why use 8, 4, 2 as divisors in the modulus test?

2. how do the divisors, delay and number of counter cycles interact to generate the required frequencies – what are the relationships among these parameters?

3. why the line of code digitalWrite(LED_3,HIGH); does not require an if statement and applies no divisor?