Dynamically define communication channel for I2C

Hi!

I am busy trying out the following:

I have a Master Arduino Uno which will have to connect through I2C to 2 or more other Arduino boards. The Wire functionality allows to connect these arduinos using a unique address for each. However, the problem is that I want to define the unique address by the Master Arduino, once a new device is connected to it.

I tried the following: - The Master Arduino listens to a default address (eg. 11). - The new device gets its power from the 5V of the master module. - Once a new device is connected, I push a button. - The master will send a request through the default address. - The new device will return a GUID. - The master will send back the GUID + a unique address. - Both master and slave will now switch to the unique address and continue communications.

This seems to work with only one device connected. However, once you connect more than one on the default address, this will not work anymore.

Is there any way to "dynamically" attach an address (communication channel) for the I2C communication, so I can connect as many devices as I want to this bus (naturally limited to just a few).

Thanks! Steph

You should probably look at the DHCP protocol for the ethernet interface. It is initiated by the client device when it needs an IP, and sends a unique serial number (mac address) to the DHCP server on a common address. This identifies each client device as unique. If you just "shotgun" a request from the master, more than likely all slaves will think that transmission is for it.

Oops,

using DHCP would be a bit overkill, I think… The idea is that in the end I would use Arduino Nano, which would provide sufficient functionality for I2C, but DHCP would be too much. The devices themselves would be quite small…

As I understand, there is no way to send a message to all devices, and let them reply after each other?

Thanks!