Easiest way to interface arduino with pc?

Hello! I want to interface my computer with an arduino to retrieve sensor data and send data back to the arduino, all wirelessly only.
I have two Arduinos that I want to set up and control from a single computer. One will retrieve temperature, the other would act as a switch.

I want to be able to get the temperature from the arduino via my computer(on command, not through intervals but that would also be nice) and send a single byte of data to the other from my computer. Maybe receive a single byte of data from it too.

Is this possible to do with Arduino? If so, what would I need to do this? I am new to the Arduino and want to apologize in advance if I have asked these questions in the wrong place.

There are several simple radio-link shields or breakout boards that you can attach to an Arduino. You really need 3 : one for your sensor, one for the switch and one for the pc. That last one will act as the communication master talking to the other 2 and the pc.

If your PC supports Bluetooth, a Bluetooth serial module is probably the least expensive but only a short 10 Meters or so range.

Ray

oggydoggy:
I have two Arduinos that I want to set up and control from a single computer. One will retrieve temperature, the other would act as a switch.

I want to be able to get the temperature from the arduino via my computer(on command, not through intervals but that would also be nice) and send a single byte of data to the other from my computer. Maybe receive a single byte of data from it too.

Is this possible to do with Arduino?

It's possible but it sounds very much like the two Arduinos are grossly under-employed. Can't you do this job with one? The real purpose of the PC might warrant some scrutiny too.

I was wondering the same thing.
Why 2 Arduinos?
I'm only asking because you said you were new to this stuff and might not realise one will do it.
Arduino software has a serial monitor that lets you see the output.